Tree font and high DPI friendliness

Have an idea? We want to hear it!
BrentKelly
Posts: 54
Joined: January 10th, 2011, 4:19 pm
Location: USA/Florida

Tree font and high DPI friendliness

Post by BrentKelly »

Vlad,
This is probably already on your list of enhancements you'd like to make in AllMyNotes after you've implemented high-priority features. But just in case it's not...

I'd like to be able to control which font (and font size) is used within the tree, at least at a global level but it would be great to be able to change this at the note/folder level too. The current font size is just a little too small for me.

Actually, the same request applies to the menu too (i.e., File, Edit, etc.), because on my screen that font is very small.


Thanks,
Brent
vlad
Site Admin
Posts: 1130
Joined: January 6th, 2011, 2:58 pm
Location: Earth -> Europe
Contact:

Re: Tree font

Post by vlad »

Hi Brent,

There is a solution. Font name/size can be specified in Skin configuration file. You can play with it by locating SkinInfo.ini file, and create/modify lines below:

Code: Select all

***************************************
**
**  Fonts
**

FontNormalName=SegoeUI.TTF
FontNormalSize=90

FontMenuName=SegoeUI.TTF
FontMenuSize=85

FontEditName=SegoeUI.TTF
FontEditSize=100

FontWndTitleName=SegoeUI.TTF
FontWndTitleSize=90
FontWndTitleBolded=TRUE

FontHintName=SegoeUI.TTF
FontHintSize=150

Once you are done with modifications restart AllMyNotes.
You may notice that these lines are present in HolyCrown skin, but commented out (disabled, to use default Windows font).

There is one inconvenient thing about it - each time after installing an upgrade will be needed to restore these lines, as skin will be reinstalled too. To go around this issue I'd recommend creating copy of skin, renaming it, so that installer will not overwrite it. But still will be needed to update it in accordance with original skin file changes.

Please use this solution for now. And as a better solution I'll file for implementation an option to modify font size...

UPDATE Aug 2022, please see my illustrated guideline below for information how to do it:
Image
AllMyNotes Organizer usage tip: a portable app for students to keep schedule, exercises, and homework
BrentKelly
Posts: 54
Joined: January 10th, 2011, 4:19 pm
Location: USA/Florida

Re: Tree font

Post by BrentKelly »

Good idea, Vlad. Thanks!
BrentKelly
Posts: 54
Joined: January 10th, 2011, 4:19 pm
Location: USA/Florida

Re: Tree font

Post by BrentKelly »

Vlad,
I went with what's shown below. What's strange is that this didn't change the font, only the font's size, which is OK because that's what I was after. I just wanted to let you know that changing the font name had no effect other than to allow my font size to be used. When I commented-out each 'name' line, my 'size' lines weren't used. Just fyi.

Code: Select all

FontNormalName=SegoeUI.TTF
FontNormalSize=90

FontMenuName=SegoeUI.TTF
FontMenuSize=90

FontEditName=SegoeUI.TTF
FontEditSize=90

FontWndTitleName=SegoeUI.TTF
FontWndTitleSize=100
FontWndTitleBolded=TRUE
Brent
vlad
Site Admin
Posts: 1130
Joined: January 6th, 2011, 2:58 pm
Location: Earth -> Europe
Contact:

Re: Tree font

Post by vlad »

BrentKelly wrote:What's strange is that this didn't change the font, only the font's size...
It's because on my system I have bit different font packs installed. You may use font name installed in windows, or .ttf font file name located in the skin directory.
You may try "Tahoma", "Century Gothic" (without quotes), etc.
AllMyNotes Organizer usage tip: a portable app for students to keep schedule, exercises, and homework
BrentKelly
Posts: 54
Joined: January 10th, 2011, 4:19 pm
Location: USA/Florida

Re: Tree font

Post by BrentKelly »

I've tried several fonts that are located in my /windows/font directory, but the style shown in the tree never changes. My skin directory doesn't have any fonts in it (should it?). So I copied the SegoeUI.ttf file to that directory to see if it would be picked up there. It wasn't.
opal

Re: Tree font

Post by opal »

Hi Vlad,
Thank you for pointing to the files to adjust. I've tried several times now without success. I am more of a graphics person than a code person, so digging around in the guts of programs frightens me a little.
I am used to font sizes being much smaller numbers than 90, ie 12 - 14 - 18... so this will be trial and error for me.

If I am to understand correctly, I can only alter the font size within the default skin, yes?
vlad
Site Admin
Posts: 1130
Joined: January 6th, 2011, 2:58 pm
Location: Earth -> Europe
Contact:

Re: Tree font

Post by vlad »

opal wrote:Thank you for pointing to the files to adjust. I've tried several times now without success.
Need to:
1. Save/update these .ini file lines.
2. Restart AllMyNotes.
opal wrote:I am used to font sizes being much smaller numbers than 90, ie 12 - 14 - 18... so this will be trial and error for me.
Just play with it a little, to get a feeling how numbers affect the size.
opal wrote:If I am to understand correctly, I can only alter the font size within the default skin, yes?
With any skin. Hmm... Possibly you are working with wrong sininfo.ini file? Cause there is two skins - "Holy Crown", and "Deep". Possibly you are modifying one skin, while AllMyNotes is configured to display another one?
AllMyNotes Organizer usage tip: a portable app for students to keep schedule, exercises, and homework
Lynette
Posts: 3
Joined: November 15th, 2012, 9:02 am

Re: Tree font and high DPI friendliness

Post by Lynette »

I have tried without success to do this! I have this but the higher numbers make no difference?

**
** Fonts
**

//FontNormalName=SegoeUI.TTF
//FontNormalSize=200

//FontMenuName=segoepr.ttf
//FontMenuSize=200

//FontEditName=TENAHB48.TTF
//FontEditSize=120

//FontWndTitleName=Orbitbn.ttf
//FontWndTitleSize=200
//FontWndTitleBolded=TRUE

//FontHintName=Amelian.TTF
//FontHintSize=150
vlad
Site Admin
Posts: 1130
Joined: January 6th, 2011, 2:58 pm
Location: Earth -> Europe
Contact:

Re: Tree font and high DPI friendliness

Post by vlad »

Lynette wrote:I have tried without success to do this! I have this but the higher numbers make no difference?

**
** Fonts
**

//FontNormalName=SegoeUI.TTF
//FontNormalSize=200

//FontMenuName=segoepr.ttf
//FontMenuSize=200

//FontEditName=TENAHB48.TTF
//FontEditSize=120

//FontWndTitleName=Orbitbn.ttf
//FontWndTitleSize=200
//FontWndTitleBolded=TRUE

//FontHintName=Amelian.TTF
//FontHintSize=150
You have to remove // characters, as these there to block these lines, like this:

FontNormalName=SegoeUI.TTF
FontNormalSize=200

FontMenuName=segoepr.ttf
FontMenuSize=200

FontEditName=TENAHB48.TTF
FontEditSize=120

FontWndTitleName=Orbitbn.ttf
FontWndTitleSize=200
FontWndTitleBolded=TRUE

FontHintName=Amelian.TTF
FontHintSize=150
AllMyNotes Organizer usage tip: a portable app for students to keep schedule, exercises, and homework
Lynette
Posts: 3
Joined: November 15th, 2012, 9:02 am

Re: Tree font and high DPI friendliness

Post by Lynette »

Yes it works now!

Many thanks....
biga
Posts: 2
Joined: July 29th, 2013, 1:25 pm

Re: Tree font and high DPI friendliness

Post by biga »

Hello,
If I need to create a new post for this issue please let me know.

Is this information concerning increasing the Tree and Menu sizes still the only way to accomplish this? I am not real savey in this area and am not sure I want to try this as I am afraid of messing something up permanently.

Hoping there is an automated way this can be done now other than this manual method. Please advise.

Thanks in advance.
biga
Posts: 2
Joined: July 29th, 2013, 1:25 pm

Re: Tree font and high DPI friendliness

Post by biga »

I took a leap of faith and have successfully adjusted my system. No reply necessary to my initial post.
Thank you.
CraigL

Re: Tree font and high DPI friendliness

Post by CraigL »

I've also tried this, with no success. I'm using a Deep skin, and tried changing the skininfo.ini file for Deep. I removed the // double slashes, changed some size numbers, no luck. Then I thought I'd modify the Holy Crown .ini file. Also removed double slashes, changed some numbers. The "menu" text changed, okay....but nothing on the Tree font or size.

Actually, it's a bit odd that both the .ini files had the double slashes in all the lines of the Fonts section. I did download the trial version and installed it, then purchased Deluxe and put in the activation code. So whatever files were installed originally, those are the files.

I don't actually see 2 lines that even refer to the Tree (Folders) font size, not to mention the text in Notes. I've used the Options to change the default font and size for all new notes, and that works just fine. Just no changing the Tree font or size. And yes, I save the .ini file, then re-open AMN.

Using Version 3.49 (build 1023) 32-bit Deluxe.
AlvaroGuevara

Re: Tree font and high DPI friendliness

Post by AlvaroGuevara »

Hi Vlad, its not working for me after several edits of skininfo.ini, and reboots after each edit.
Image
Image
AlvaroGuevara

Re: Tree font and high DPI friendliness

Post by AlvaroGuevara »

Show us your solution please
vlad
Site Admin
Posts: 1130
Joined: January 6th, 2011, 2:58 pm
Location: Earth -> Europe
Contact:

Re: Tree font and high DPI friendliness

Post by vlad »

AlvaroGuevara wrote: August 18th, 2022, 4:41 pm Show us your solution please
Ok... I presume there is some kind of issue. Either you cannot save setting due to an error with file access permissions, or, you need to restart AllMyNotes completely, make sure it's not hidden in the system tray (actually running in the background).

I've tried to illustrate it this way:
Image
AllMyNotes Organizer usage tip: a portable app for students to keep schedule, exercises, and homework
vlad
Site Admin
Posts: 1130
Joined: January 6th, 2011, 2:58 pm
Location: Earth -> Europe
Contact:

Re: Tree font and high DPI friendliness

Post by vlad »

AlvaroGuevara wrote: August 18th, 2022, 3:00 pm Hi Vlad, its not working for me after several edits of skininfo.ini, and reboots after each edit.
It looks like your text editor saves it under different name - it adds " NOTE README.txt" to file name. Make sure to save it exactly as "SkinInfo.ini". There may be a problem with file access permission. I've added a screenshot (see my post above) with guideline how to gain file access rights.
AllMyNotes Organizer usage tip: a portable app for students to keep schedule, exercises, and homework
Post Reply