Cannot load default language module

Technical support discussions and Bug Reports – You find em, we squash em
TRhex
Posts: 13
Joined: October 26th, 2011, 10:49 pm
Location: Canada

Cannot load default language module

Post by TRhex »

Hi. Very nice product! In using it daily for a few weeks now I've come across some bugs. Here's the only real stopper.

This error (see attached image) came up after installing ShadowProtect. It only happens occasionally and I'm not sure of the pattern, but I think it's when ShadowProtect has missed a scheduled job and immediately tries to catch up. eg. if I have it scheduled to start backups at 8am, but turn the computer on at 6am, AllMyNotes starts up fine; if I turn on the computer at 9am, I get the error. Once I get the error, AllMyNotes does not start, but I can then manually start it up without error.
allmynoteserror.jpg
allmynoteserror.jpg (9.58 KiB) Viewed 5369 times
WinXP SP3
AllMyNotes 2.49 (build 464)
Set to "Automatically start on Windows startup"

Thanks!
tr
vlad
Site Admin
Posts: 1112
Joined: January 6th, 2011, 2:58 pm
Location: Earth -> Europe
Contact:

Re: Cannot load default language module

Post by vlad »

Thank you for bringing it to our attention. I'm using AllMyNotes on my XP SP3 daily too, and it works very well... Possibly it's due to Shadow Protect, or some other software... I'll try to check out the compatibility with Shadow Protect on nearest days, and in a meantime I would like to ask you this - please upgrade to version 2.51, and let me know if it will happen using it.
AllMyNotes Organizer usage tip: make notes in courtrooms, for lawyers
TRhex
Posts: 13
Joined: October 26th, 2011, 10:49 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Cannot load default language module

Post by TRhex »

Thanks for the quick response, vlad. Much appreciated!
I'll update, but it may be a while before I get new results to you (possibly not until tomorrow).

tr
TRhex
Posts: 13
Joined: October 26th, 2011, 10:49 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Cannot load default language module

Post by TRhex »

I've updated to 2.51 (build 474) and haven't had this reoccur. However, I've also had to uninstall ShadowProtect because it was causing issues with Truecrypt.
Thanks,
tr
TRhex
Posts: 13
Joined: October 26th, 2011, 10:49 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Cannot load default language module

Post by TRhex »

This error message just appeared again on startup. I reboot the PC and it came up again. I haven't seen this error in daily use for 2 weeks now, and I have not installed anything new recently. I have no clues to give, as nothing odd shows up in the Windows Eventlog.
Qartie

Re: Cannot load default language module

Post by Qartie »

Аналогичная проблема
A similar problem
Deluxe Edition (Desktop) 2.61
WinXP SP3
vlad
Site Admin
Posts: 1112
Joined: January 6th, 2011, 2:58 pm
Location: Earth -> Europe
Contact:

Re: Cannot load default language module

Post by vlad »

Try following steps to fix it:
1. Delete AllMyNotes.ini file (located in "My Documents\AllMyNotes\" folder)
2. Re-install AllMyNotes to a different folder. Note: it will not affect your data, as your data is stored in My Documents folder

Try to launch AllMyNotes, hopefully it will work, let me know otherwise.

I presume the issue is related to file access permissions in the original folder, need to delete it, but as it can be done with administrative permissions it's not always possible, therefore I recommend to try different folder, it's easier this way.
AllMyNotes Organizer usage tip: make notes in courtrooms, for lawyers
Post Reply