Import from InfoSelect

Tips, tricks and how-to discussions

Import from InfoSelect

Postposted carlaxel » December 27th, 2012, 4:57 pm

On the website, it says "We do support quick and easy import from Info Select's .wd2 files. Read the manual for detailed steps." (http://info-select-alternative-app.allmynotes.org/)

However in the manual I do not see any way to import the files other than first exporting them from IS. Is it possible to directly import the .wd2 files from IS or do I need to open IS and export them all first?
carlaxel
 
Messages: 1
Member since:: December 27th, 2012, 4:52 pm

Re: Import from InfoSelect

Postposted vlad » December 27th, 2012, 5:48 pm

carlaxel wrote:in the manual I do not see any way to import the files other than first exporting them from IS. Is it possible to directly import the .wd2 files from IS or do I need to open IS and export them all first?


Well, at least we are the only competitors of InfoSelect who can import data exported from InfoSelect. Direct import from .wd2 files is impossible due to proprietary data format used by InfoSelect. Though, in addition to import/export there is one more way to move data from InfoSelect to AllMyNotes:
1. Open AllMyNotes Organizer and Info Select applications. Arrange their windows horizontally one next to another, so it's easy to see both at a same time.
2. In Info Select open a note you want to move to AllMyNotes Organizer.
3. Press Ctrl+A to select whole note text.
4. Drag&Drop selected note text to hierarchy tree in AllMyNotes Organizer. Once dropped there, a new note with note text inside will be created there.

Repeat steps 2-4 until all notes you want to move will be transferred. This process will take you some minutes (depends on amount of data actually), but this way you can move your data from IS with respecting original text formatting.
AllMyNotes Organizer usage idea: keep your financial docs - bills, transactions, taxes, investments, records about bank accounts. Protect it all with a password!
vlad
Site Admin
 
Messages: 903
Member since:: January 6th, 2011, 2:58 pm
City/Country: Earth -> Europe

Re: Import from InfoSelect

Postposted StephenMartinson » April 30th, 2013, 2:31 pm

I used this cut and paste method to import the Infoselect notes where formatting was important. It worked fairly well, except for a note filled with varying font styles. It worked for every font in the notes except for the PressWriter Symbols font. Instead of displaying as symbols, as they do in Infoselect, they display as letters of the alphabet.
StephenMartinson
 

Re: Import from InfoSelect

Postposted Brallan » October 10th, 2014, 8:05 pm

Any chance of exporting, or dragging, "topics" and their "subtopics" from IS to AMN? I have thousands upon thousands of IS "notes," and don't expect to live long enough to export each and every individual note.

Thanks,
Brad
Brallan
 

Re: Import from InfoSelect

Postposted vlad » October 10th, 2014, 9:56 pm

Brallan wrote:Any chance of exporting, or dragging, "topics" and their "subtopics" from IS to AMN? I have thousands upon thousands of IS "notes," and don't expect to live long enough to export each and every individual note.


Please read the manual. We have described all possible ways how to import data from Info Select to AllMyNotes there, particularly via Note-delimited and Tab-delimited text formats.
AllMyNotes Organizer usage idea: keep your financial docs - bills, transactions, taxes, investments, records about bank accounts. Protect it all with a password!
vlad
Site Admin
 
Messages: 903
Member since:: January 6th, 2011, 2:58 pm
City/Country: Earth -> Europe

Re: Import from InfoSelect

Postposted Paul » October 12th, 2014, 12:49 pm

@Brad,

I have had excellent success with importing IS data into AMN in the past few days. I am on v6 so if you have a different version my following comments may need to be adjusted.

I simply click on a topic to expand it in IS. IS will only export the notes you have displayed. Depending on what what hierarchy you want to transfer, click on the topic at that level. Then export in tab format (general text in my edition). When you import in AMN you have all your notes plus the hierarchy. Very slick. Very easy.

Just experiment a bit since it is so easy to delete the material in AMN or the whole file and start over.

The only issue right now for me are the tickler dates are not transferred. I have an open thread for this on this form and vlad is looking into the matter. Check that for solutions in due course.

Paul
Paul
 

Re: Import from InfoSelect

Postposted Ptrutrus » December 29th, 2014, 10:42 pm

Re Info Select, v9 (v10 took a right turn away from my uses for the product);
~ 30,000 notes to export (I use IS to draft papers), so copy/paste would be quite a chore.
Formatted text; delimited export would lose it.
The 'note' layout of my thoughts would be lost were I to export folder contents (ie, folder open, all notes within selected) -- I would export the notes as rtf or doc, but they would come out as one file of many notes per folder exported.
Exporting folders puts the caption at the top of each note's text, duplicating text that I would have to delete in each of my 30k notes.
(For the most part, my captions are the notes' text up to the return.)

I don't suppose, once my exported rtf files (per folder) arrive in AMN, there is a way to separate the notes with a find/replace of some kind?
(Mostly, I do have an end-of-note marker for my notes.)

Yes, I am interested in moving to AllMyNotes, but, as I say here, it would be quite an effort.
Ptrutrus
 

Re: Import from InfoSelect

Postposted Ptrutrus » December 30th, 2014, 8:12 am

You know how it can be ... you walk away from the problem and voila! Golly Gee!

About importing ~30,000 notes, each having an end-of-note marker in Info Select.
Of course I can do it into AllMyNotes -- After AMN processes a delimiter split file with an 'unjoin' command like IS's (eg, ctl-shift-J).

Right?!
In IS, I could 'join' the notes (ctl-J), folder by folder, then export each folder's joined note-stream to a single rtf/doc (there would still be several 'folder files', ~50),
which would retain most of my formatting and eliminate the need altogether for my end-of-note markers (in hindsight)?
Once imported and unjoined in AMN -- lots of notes again, now in AMN?
(Of course, I could instead select each note in each folder, then export them all into a single note-stream rtf ... but that would require the very small added step of converting my end-of-note marker into, eg, "~~": Why bother?)

P
ps The markers were implemented in my templates and otherwise before I considered AMN, while thinking of other options to get my notes out of Info Select.
Ptrutrus
 

Re: Import from InfoSelect need advice

Postposted Billy » March 16th, 2016, 9:48 pm

Have exported all my Info Select Wd3 files into both NoteDelimited and TabDelimited(Gen text). Would appreciate some experienced help here because I don't seem to be getting duplicated hierarchy results in AMN. Using NoteDelimited import, I at least get separate notes, although I made no adjustment and left the note separator as "--" and did not change the AMN.ini file it to "=-=". To delete the "[Note]" that headered each exported note, I just put it in a word processor and did a simple macro with Search & Replace. However, this did not transfer over an Topics, which Info Select uses so well as note grouping separators. I don't see Topics in AMN....is that correct? ...or, does the concept of Folder meant to replace the IS Topic separators? ...some clarification on that first, would be appreciated.

Then I tried using Tab Delimited export (so named "Gen text" files in Info Select). The result, however, was the import of just one large note, will all the notes from within my original InfoSelect export stacked neatly on top of each other, indented away from and separated by the Topic titles (which were all neatly flush-left). In other words, Gen text import produced no hierarchy at all wtinin AMN, just a massive text file with all the notes from the original wd3 on one page. Did I do something wrong..? the instructions imply that imported gen text notes and topics will be imported back into something similar within AMN semi-automatically by the Import process itself.

(The IS is version 10, my older IS ver 5 does an even worse job of exporting Tab limited. )

thxs to whomever might help....
BillySheers
Billy
 
Messages: 14
Member since:: February 19th, 2016, 12:19 am

Re: Import from InfoSelect need advice

Postposted vlad » March 17th, 2016, 2:32 pm

Billy wrote:I don't see Topics in AMN....is that correct? ...or, does the concept of Folder meant to replace the IS Topic separators? ...some clarification on that first, would be appreciated.


Folders in AllMyNotes is equivalent of Topics in Info Select.

Billy wrote:Then I tried using Tab Delimited export (so named "Gen text" files in Info Select). The result, however, was the import of just one large note


As I can see, InfoSelect is changing exported data formats frequently. I'll be happy to assist you with importing Tab Delimited format, please do export tiny sample file (just few folders and notes would be enough) and send over to me (Image) exported tab delimited file, so I'll investigate and correct AllMyNotes accordingly.
AllMyNotes Organizer usage idea: keep your financial docs - bills, transactions, taxes, investments, records about bank accounts. Protect it all with a password!
vlad
Site Admin
 
Messages: 903
Member since:: January 6th, 2011, 2:58 pm
City/Country: Earth -> Europe


Return to How Do I...

cron